The Heavenly Man… or not?

Christian biography is one of my go-to genres for encouragement and refreshment; my delight, with the Psalmist’s, lies with the Saints who are in the land (Ps 16:3). Consequently, I was excited when The Heavenly Man, the story of Brother Yun, was glowingly recommended to me. Perhaps here was another book to add to my list of greats—to place alongside Brother Andrew and Corrie Ten Boom on my shelf of Saints. However, as I worked my way through Yun’s story a strange cadre of emotions followed me; this was a book that left me… uncertain. Let me see if I can explain why.

Brother Yun is a Chinese house church leader, and The Heavenly Man is his story, told with the help of Paul Hattaway. It begins in Yun’s youth when he begins to earnestly pray for a bible. He prays fervently and faithfully—so fervently that his family begins to think him crazy. Then, one day, God miraculously provided a bible for Yun. He began to consume, then memorize the scriptures, and then was almost immediately called to preach. What follows (the remainder of his story) is an amazing account of miracles (among these were healings, miraculous transportation, provision, supernatural wisdom, and multiple divinely planned escapes from the authorities). In short, Yun travels, preaches, brings people to faith, spends time in prison, ministers to prisoners, is tortured, is released, is imprisoned more, is tortured more, and through it all is provided for by God on numerous occasions.

What I say next I want to say carefully: there is nothing wrong with Yun’s book; but there is also something not quite right about it. The cadre of strange emotions that traipsed through his story with me nagged again and again, raising small flags here and there, that something didn’t add up.

Let’s begin with what was right with Yun’s book. First, his life story, as one of commitment to Christ through suffering, is admirable. Yun’s faithfulness is a wonderful testimony to Christ’s goodness. Second, Yun is clear in that he gives glory to Christ for what has happened and not to himself. (Incidentally, Yun’s nickname, “Heavenly Man” isn’t about Yun’s holiness, but about a time when the authorities asked him where he was from. He responded, in order to protect his village, by saying he belonged to Heaven, and the nickname stuck.) Third, and this is terribly important, whenever Yun quoted scripture—whether to teach, to explain a situation, or in defense of his actions—he quoted them accurately. There was no proof texting, but healthy interpretation of the bible. Often, I find that if a teacher is faulty, those faults show up first in the teacher’s interpretation of scripture. So this factor—the accurate use of scripture—is one that gave, to my mind, the greatest credibility to Yun’s story.

But alongside theses goods came, every few pages or so, the red flags which left me uncertain. And the first red flag was Yun’s accounts of miracles. Now before I go on let me be clear—abundantly clear—that I believe in the power of the Spirit to do whatever He wants to do. That is, I have no problem believing in miracles—in transportation, in fasting, in healings, in knowledge, in miraculous escapes. Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever; he is the same one who acted in the past, he is the same who acts today. So my concerns about Yun’s book have precisely nothing to do with a prejudiced dismissal of the miraculous. My concerns are different, so let me try to explain them. When I read about Brother Andrew’s miraculously surviving Volkswagen, or his miraculous encounters at hostile borders, there are no questions in my mind. When I read about Corrie Ten Boom’s miraculous bottle of vitamins while in the concentration camp, I am undeterred. When I read about Jack Hayford getting words from the Lord and having visions I am unfazed. And when I read about John Wimber’s miraculous accounts I am encouraged. In each case one factor is consistent: the Spirit within me ratifies His own work. And this may seem unfairly subjective, but I have experienced the Spirit, know what He is like, and recognize the scent of His actions when I encounter them. That flavor was missing from Yun’s book—and that lack of confirmation troubled me deeply. Do I believe that he was miraculously transported from one location to another? I’m not sure. Do I believe that he fasted from food and water for more than 70 days? I’m not sure. Do I believe that he miraculously walked out of a maximum security prison in China? Again, I’m not sure.

Still, my uncertainty shouldn’t negate a book’s testimony—especially without evidence!—otherwise it would just be my word against his. But other elements combined to create a deeper suspicion. One of these other red flags was the frequent use of what I’ll call “everybody” language. Yun preaches, and “everybody” repents. Yun holds a meeting and “everybody” weeps. Yun shares the gospel in prison and “everybody” is enrapt. Now, this is, most likely, a blatant exaggeration. There’s always some Eutychus who nods off, even when the preaching is first-rate. And this idea of exaggeration began to lodge itself in my mind. It is easy, as a preacher, to exaggerate—to make the story bigger, the salvation more poignant, the miracle more miraculous. I began to wonder if Yun had fallen into that trap.

Reflecting on both the miracles and the ‘everybody’ language, a new thought occurred to me: Yun’s book closely resembles the book of Acts. And not just ‘closely resembles’, but appears to be written as a copy of the book of Acts. Yun is saved, set apart for a mission like Paul, is miraculously transported like Philip, is part of healings and radical community like the early church, escapes from the authorities like Paul, escapes from prison like Peter—Yun is even met at the door by a girl who forgets to open it for him after his escape! Through this all my inner eye began to narrow more and more as I scrutinized Yun’s book. Why does this book so closely parallel the story of Acts? Again, I must ask, is it possible for God to do these things? Certainly! But does this all add up?

In the end, I left Yun’s book feeling like I had been fed a story I wanted to believe, as if this was just what I wanted to hear about the underground Chinese church, its size, its miracles, its freshness, its closeness to the apostolic Church of Acts. And because of all this, I’m not sure Yun’s book was entirely truthful. Do I doubt that Yun has a ministry in China, possibly a highly effective one with the Spirit’s power? No. But I’m not sure that this book is an accurate picture of that ministry. And for that reason I don’t feel comfortable recommending it. Sadly, it won’t go on my shelf of saints. Does that mean I won’t be proved wrong? Far from it—nothing would please me more than to learn that I’ve made a misjudment about Yun and his story. But I don’t think that’s the case. And until that time, if you read his book, I suggest you read it with caution.

52 comments on “The Heavenly Man… or not?

  1. Sam Giroux says:

    Thank you for the review. I enjoyed the honesty in your tone and fairness you gave the material.

  2. David M. Decker says:

    Dear jmichaelrios, 08/13/13 I want tell you want happened three days ago with me concerning the prison escape of brother Yun. I have a small personal internet ministry reaching mostly the Chinese by teaching them English through Skype using the bible as the means. A non-Christian policeman that worked mostly in the prison system in China joined our group as we were reading in Acts chapter 12 about Peter in prison. A thought came to my mind. I had read
    ‘The Heavenly Man” and had met Brother Yun here in Los Angeles. I remembered the miracles that happened in the last high security prison where Brother Yun was in Henan province. I asked this young policeman if he had the means to look up internal prison files on Brother Yun’s time in that prison and his escape. He say that he would try. This young man does not want his name published do to possible reprisals against him for offering this information. Brother Yun is still a wanted man in China. My new policeman friend came back a couple of days later with about 100 pages of information about Brother Yun’s time in that Prison. He read that he had his legs broken and that he refused to eat or drink for over 70 days. I was so happy to hear this. The book The Heavenly Man is prohibited reading in China. The escape actually happened as stated in the book and the officials say that Brother Yun had no help to escape. The escape news was on all the media sources, including tv. They mentioned that various prisoners and some officials had become Christians because of Yun’s influence. Some guards have been punished because they did not do their duty and allowed Yun to escape. The manhunt for Brother Yun was fruitless. He was the only prisoner to escape from that facility. This was a big embarrassment for the Chinese government. I hope this helps you to believe in the miracles as Brother Yun stated them. I do now, more than ever.
    By the way, my mother in law was prayed for by Brother Yun that evening when we went to see him preach, and a “shadow” that showed up on her chest ex-ray a couple of days before the prayer was gone upon further examination a few days later. Praise God! When Brother Yun prays, he likes to get down on his knees with the people to pray for them. What a humble man. My mother-in-law was not asked to kneel because of her age (81) and she was allowed to go to the front of the very long line. He took his time with everyone. They must have been there very late into the night.
    There was not a single request for money that I recall. No tickets sold. No admission charge. Books were available for a donation of any amount. They were not being sold and were just on a table in the foyer. The book “The Heavenly Man” was not in sight.
    As far as his preaching goes, he did not have a good interpreter. The interpreter was also Chinese and did not have good interpreting skills. That was a shame. A good interpreter is so important. The personal prayer session later made up for any lack of communication before. I have seen Spirit filled sermons before but never have seen such compassion, empathy in humility for the people as I did that night. I hope that the people that cast aspersions would pluck the beam out of their own eye first so they can see to remove what is in their brother’s eye. Not referring to you and your comments brother Jeremy.
    David Decker

    • Ivan Marečić says:

      Hi David, thank you for your answer, and also thanks to Michael for his text on Heavenly Man. I would like if you can provide your full name and address or at least to what church you attend to validate your claims. The Skype address or web address of service by which you provide your services to Chinese whishing to learn English would also validate your claims.
      I’m not saying you are not speaking the truth but since Tony Antony I’m extra careful.
      Ivan Marečić, Zagreb, Croatia.

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Hi David,

      Thanks for taking time to respond. I’m sorry I’ve taken so long to write on my end. I’ve also been unsure of what to say in response.

      I think I made it clear above that my intention was not to cast aspersions on the ministry of Brother Yun. Rather, I felt the need to process my own experience of reading the book, which did, and still does, leave me with doubts. I’ll continue to keep my mind and heart open to new evidence, but I’ll also continue to urge caution when people read the book. Once again, thanks for sharing–also, praise God for the answered prayers for your mother!

      Peace of Christ,

      Jeremy Rios

      • Bkim says:

        I enjoyed your review on the book, which reminded me of when I read the third chapter, the way God called upon him from him sleep to evangelize South and West from a voice, was very recollective of Samuel as well. He goes to him Mother who says she did not call him and instructs him to go back to sleep.

    • Dana Roberts says:

      Mr. Decker: I have a few questions. Did you tell your policeman friend anything about brother Yun’s testimony? I worked in China for eight years. Many Chinese like to please foreigners and tell them what you want to hear. They also exaggerate stories. I remember planting a false story about encoding to a branch officer of the Bank of China. Two days later he told me that it was all true.

  3. […] článek na toto téma je možné si přečíst (žel pouze v angličtině) například zde: The Heavenly Man or Not? Autor v něm vyznává své pochybnosti na základě třech věcí, které mu na celém příběhu […]

  4. Horacio T. Sison says:

    Blessings, Jeremy,

    Thank you for this review of Bro. Yun’s book. I will agree that, while “The Heavenly Man” is a gripping read, I seem to remember that there were times when “the ratification of the Holy Spirit” seemed to be lacking. (I read the book round 2007-2008 or thereabouts, not too long before before Bro. Yun visited the Philippines.)

    Have you read “Heaven is So Real” by a Korean-American Choo Nam Thomas? I would like to know how you find this book. I bought a copy within a few months of reading Bro. Yun’s book. I think I will reserve my comments regarding Choo Thomas’ book till after I read your review.

    Blessings upon your ministry!

    Ray (Horacio T. Sison)

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Hi Ray! Thanks for reading. I haven’t read the other book–I’ll add it to my list of books to check out–although you should know my to-be-read list is about 100 books long!

      Blessings,

      Jeremy

  5. Linda says:

    You hit the nail on the head as far as I am concerned. There is something off indeed about this mans story. .

  6. lessie says:

    Thank you so much. Your thoughtful comments remind me to be humble. My feelings as reading this book have been from “what?!” to “dude is crazy” to “this guy is arrogant, prideful, and even a liar.” Your comments remind me to be more judicious and more respectful. As a brother in Christ and as a human being, he deserves more than my dismissal. God loves him and God is capable of all Hun’s claims. I am also grateful for your comments b/c I’ve been thinking…surely I’m not crazy. I also have noted the names you mentioned for future reading. As a lazy, rich North American Christian maybe the greater message to me is to pray for China and surrender to God as Hun has.

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Hi Lessie! I’m really grateful that you feel this way after reading the review. May the Lord bless your continued reading, and may you come to see more and more of Him!

  7. Dana Roberts says:

    My name is Dana Roberts. I have a few degrees from in Religion and New Testament Studies and some post-grad work (Gordon-Conwell Theological Seminary, Eastern Nazarene College, Trinity Evangelical Divinity School). My first book on Watchman Nee is one of the standard references to his theology. I learned much more by speaking to the surviving members of his church still living in Shanghai. Not a “Spiritual Man” at all. Chinese Christian outside China are divided about his work. Skepticism fights with those who regard him as God’s seer. The facts are there. But you have to go to Shanghai and in the case of Brother Yun you have to got to ZhengZhou City, Henan Province to get the facts. There are Christians in Henan Province, from his own fellowship who have disassociated themselves from him. Why? I don’t know. My own reservations begin with a comparison of Nora Lamb’s ‘China Cry’ with Mr. Yun’s testimony. It has the same level of super miracles. My own estimation is that Yun was persecuted like many Christians there. But the Chinese have a long tradition of making a story better than it is (I knew a Christian Deacon on Hainan Island who exaggerated his own claims.). It’s saying what people want to hear. Outside China it is quite possible that Yun picked up the “want more” cues and added to his story. Why Brother Yun?

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Hi Dana, thanks for reading!

      It’s sad that we feel the need for secondary sources–I don’t personally enjoy having to be critical in this way. Interestingly enough, I was in Shanghai, Fuzhou, and Changsha just last week. I wasn’t in a position to ask any questions about Brother Yun, though :)

      Blessings!

      Jeremy Rios

  8. Nate says:

    Hello. Just came across this blog as I was trying to find out more about the validity of this book. I also remember feeling a bit skeptical as I was reading the book.

    Wanted to share this link for anyone interested – it’s an open letter from Paul Hattaway (author of the Heavenly Man), regarding Brother Yun. I’d like to believe that all of this is true.. I don’t know if we have any good reason to doubt, other than our skepticism.

    http://asiaharvest.org/bookstore/open-letter-heavenly-man/

  9. Simon says:

    jmichaelrios. You should think more before you speak.

  10. Chris says:

    Thank you for your blog on The Heavenly Man. You related more than I found in the book since I put the book down after the tenth chapter. Your observations about parallels to the book of Acts is something I started to notice.
    But what bothered me is that Brother Yun is evidently a man who suffered more torture than the apostle Paul without having any reason in his unbelieving life to warrant such from God, whereas Paul’s suffering was based on his persecution of the church.
    I also found it odd that God hardly ever tempered Yun’s sufferings. Br. Yun suffered often unimaginably, excrutiatingly, without God doing for him what God did for others who suffered far less.
    Finally, it seems that Br. Yun suffered not all, but many or most, of the methods of torture upon himself which Christians have suffered only in small part as individuals. As with experiencing the book of Acts, he seems to have suffered much found in Foxe’s Book of Martyrs all by himself, again without help from God to temper the pain.
    The reason? Either his story is completely true and I really don’t know what help from God for his people means, or he suffered enough that he is psychologically or physically brain damaged so that he no longer knows his own reality as distinct from that of other tortured Christians.
    The book may be fully true, but I cannot believe at this point that it is. It does not match the testimony of other historical Christian experiences that I know of, and doesn’t match the promises of Scripture.

    • M says:

      Have to say that obviously you’ve never listened to the stories of people who escaped from North Korea if you think it’s not humanly possible to suffer great physical torture and still remain ‘intact’ mentally. Many, many, many humans have suffered incredibly…during the Holocaust, under Pol Pot, and during the Cultural Revolution as well as now in regimes such as North Korea and Iran just to name two. I think the issue is the west is soft and can’t fathom true suffering and true grace because it has been spared, thus far.

  11. Zacchaues says:

    Acts 3.9. All the people saw him………. I suppose that isn’t true either because someone is usually asleep or gone to the toilet etc. I think you are nitpicking and missing a great work of God

    • All people saw and all people repented is different. One is witness, very easy for everyone to be in the same boat. After seeing this lame person walking around, they were filled with wonder. It doesn’t say they all became Christians because I’m sure some still doubted. The story by Yun tells of a personal response, which I would expect to vary from person to person.

  12. I don’t think articles like this help peoples faith, so why write it? If you don’t have proof (as you said in the blog) then you should not be writing about it. I think its basically like gossiping.

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Hi Donovan,

      I think you raise some points that are worth discussing.

      First of all, in any book review, the “proof” one has is in the book itself. Whether I recommend a book, or condemn it, should be based on the evidence of the book itself. Anything else would be disingenuous (like giving a favorable review because it was a gift, or because you know the author). The very idea of a book review depends on reviewing, well, the book itself. So if we take your logic and apply it across the board, no one should write any reviews except those people with personal experience of the author’s claims. I think that’s a pretty big stretch.

      Second, I have been very careful not to question Brother Yun’s character in this process. I have left the question open as to the veracity of his claims, but you have my opinion that something is off. In other words, in all reviews I make a point of addressing the argument and not the person. That’s simply a principle of good critique.

      Third, gossip is the business of speaking behind someone’s back, and sometimes of sharing people’s secrets when we ought not to. I’m not dealing in hidden things, but in a book that is open and published. Go ahead, you can secure a copy and write your own review as well. Nothing that’s been said is in secret, and we’re not talking behind his back. So this isn’t gossip at all.

      Fourth, what you seem to suggest is that there is no place for Christian critique, or Christian criticism. I think this is also false. And if it were true, mind you, there would be no place for your critique of my critique. So why would you reserve the right to critique my review of Brother Yun’s book, but restrict my critique of his book? I hope you can see how this is self-defeating. Instead, we are called to “test the Spirits,” and to “take every thought captive,” and the Bereans are commended for searching the Scriptures diligently. My intention is to faithfully execute that task, and as for the above review, I continue to stand by my words.

      Blessings,

      Jeremy

      • thinkadapt says:

        Hi Jeremy,

        Gossip is the wrong term – you are correct and I apologise. I still think what you have done is wrong. You can call it a critique, the bottom line is you have put doubt on someones account / character when you do not know for certain yourself – you just have a feeling “that something is not quite right”. You can stand by your words as much as you like – and I will stand by mine. You should not be writing articles that bring doubt on something when you don’t know for sure yourself.

  13. Paul Ehrsam says:

    I completely agree with what ‘thinkadapt’ January 27, 2016 at 11:55 pm says. The Heavenly Man has in no way been shown as lying and the article only causes confusion, doubt, and mistrust. I suggest you check “Open Letter Regarding ‘The Heavenly Man’ ” by Paul Hattaway of Asia Harvest. The enemy “Satan” does not need our help in casting doubt today any more than in new testament times. ie. Trial of Jesus, Early church and character of Apostle Paul — Some books require critiquing I agree, however, personal testimonies are not in that category when it comes to pure speculation, feeling, intuition, or what ever other not factual word you may use. To reiterate, you should not be writing articles that bring doubt on someone’s personal testimony you don’t know for sure yourself.

  14. JFork says:

    I wouldn’t be here if it weren’t for the fact that, halfway through the book, I just couldn’t shake the fact that something was off. I put off checking on Brother Yun’s credibility as long as I could because I didn’t want it to cast a cloud over my reading of the book. American Christians often hear how powerfully God works in countries where Christians are persecuted, so I’m eager to believe his story is true. But his story of fasting from food and water for 70 days just seems odd. Maybe it’s just the way it’s written. I’m not sure I’m going to finish the book.

    “When I read about Brother Andrew’s miraculously surviving Volvo, or his miraculous encounters at hostile borders, there are no questions in my mind. When I read about Corrie Ten Boom’s miraculous bottle of vitamins while in the concentration camp, I am undeterred. When I read about Jack Hayford getting words from the Lord and having visions I am unfazed. And when I read about John Wimber’s miraculous accounts I am encouraged. In each case one factor is consistent: the Spirit within me ratifies His own work. And this may seem unfairly subjective, but I have experienced the Spirit, know what He is like, and recognize the scent of His actions when I encounter them. That flavor was missing from Yun’s book”

    Having read many of the above-mentioned Christian autobiographies, I agree with this statement 100%. Again, maybe it’s just a matter of Paul Hattaway’s writing style? But something does seem a little off about “Heavenly Man”.

    • M says:

      There were women who were pregnant for 11-15 months in the concentration camps…which isn’t “possible” either…why is fasting for 70 days “impossible”???

  15. JFork says:

    Also, there is absolutely nothing wrong with verifying a person’s claims. John listed a number of eye-witnesses at the end of his gospel so people reading it could go and verify his claims if they didn’t believe him. There are other examples of warnings to be vigilant against false teachers in the New Testament as well. NOT saying Yun is a false teacher, but the only way to know for sure if someone is true or false is to verify that what they’re saying is the truth.

  16. Mu'allim Dzhan says:

    Hey everybody – just for the record, (since it’s now been erroneously referred to here at least twice), it was a Volkswagen beetle, NOT a Volvo in “God’s Smuggler” — which the (Yugoslav?) mechanic described as a miracle which he couldn’t bear to see Brother Andrew abuse!

    But as someone who himself spent a couple of decades ministering behind the Iron Curtain, who also experienced some divine miraculous leading — for example, God revealing to people in dreams (on different occasions, to both people who’d never heard of me, and to contacts who knew me, but with whom I couldn’t communicate in advance) that I would be coming at such and such a point in time, so that they could travel to meet me, etc.

    I was also personal friends for many years (while they were still alive) with, and spent long hours talking to, and listening to the first-hand testimonies of various believers who had spent long years for their faith in various Eastern European prisons and labor camps.

    But I’ve also worked as a historian and a librarian, and I was also thoroughly acquainted with some of the distortions and discrepancies behind the P.R. stories of many of the leading Eastern European missions at the time, and actual events, including faked biographies with details stolen from other people’s experiences and lyingly reported as something which the author himself had experienced (when in fact he had not!) When challenged as to why he had done this, one of the (lying) authors answered: “Well, it COULD have happened to me!”

    And I too have to say that there was something about “The Heavenly Man” which also put me off…(Subjective though such a statement may be), there was something which simply did not ring true to me about “The Heavenly Man”. Among other things, it was simply too “hagiographic” (i.e., like the Eastern Orthodox “legends of saints”…)

    I’m not saying there was anything in the book which God COULDN’T have done, but I somehow simply failed to be convinced that this man HAD indeed experienced all these things in real life space and time. (–As opposed to the author believing (that God would be glorified and) that believers would be encouraged by believing that God had done these things — cf. again the tradition and genesis of the highly fanciful tales of miracles attributed to saints in the Eastern Orthodox tradition!!! — tales which there too were originally told with the intention of encouraging and increasing the faith of the believers…!)

    Dana Roberts’ comments here are extremely apt and accurate — similar fantastic accounts of Watchman Nee’s miraculous testimony and experiences also circulated widely in the 1970s and early 80s!

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Thanks for the comment, Mu’allim, and sorry about the delay in replying–I’ve recently been through an international move!

      Thanks for pointing out my error about the Volvo–I’ve changed it accordingly! I guess it’s about time I re-read my Brother Andrew.

      Blessings!

  17. Elle says:

    Thank you for this honest review. I’m currently reading and what you’ve expressed here are thoughts I’ve quietly had (and then felt rather guilty about). Many of the books you mentioned have created a similar response in me that they did in you (and there a few I haven’t read, yet…so thanks for the recommendations!). I find myself talking about these books with friends all the time. But this one…I can’t bring myself to talk about it with anyone. All of this to say, I also would like to find that his story is true someday! But I do want to be a discerning, thoughtful reader. Thanks for the execution of that and even the explanations of how you’re approaching it in your replies to comments.

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Thanks, Elle! Curiously, this has been the review I’ve written that has generated the most traffic. From that I might surmise that there are lots of people who have questions regarding the book. I can only hope (and your comment gives me this hope!) that my critique is read and received in a spirit of Christian charity.

      By the way, if you’ve got other books to recommend, I’m all ears!

  18. Deborah Nyberg says:

    I saw Brother Yun preach this past Sunday. I found the sermon superficial and charismatic. At some point the whole audience was asked to bow down and pray for salvation, I remained firmly in my seat and prayed for protection. I have already been saved, so had every person in that room that had opened their hearts to Jesus Christ, so I had no idea what his prayer of salvation was for. All I knew is that I did not want to bow down and pray collectively with him. There followed an intercession prayer for individuals after this which was very charismatic. People were gripped by the head, they fell on the floor, some shaking – very disturbing. I prayed for guidance and felt the Holy Spirit. Brother Yun approached people that were sitting next to me and laid hands on them without even asking them first. I got an alarming feeling and felt urged to leave my seat and walk away before he put his hands on me next. I stood by the entrance door and watched what I considered to be a “circus”. I prayed some more and this time the Holy Spirit gave me the opposite feeling – stand your ground as he approaches you and be prepared to look him straight in the eye. I felt strong and adamant – it was quite an overwhelming feeling. This was amazing, having had the message to flee some minutes before. I had prayed to God to send me a specific sign if this man was aided by the Holy Spirit of God – Brother Yun did not give that sign but hurried past me, without a glance.

    I have had people lay their hands on me and pray for me and have never refused or felt the negative feeling I felt on Sunday. I had been looking forward to the sermon, so this experience surprised me, but nevertheless, I trust my personal connection with God more than I do the complete authenticity of Brother Yun’s ministry.

  19. A. Monter says:

    In ur misjudgment is included the word judge. And as a Christian you should know there is only one Judge. Also that’s probably the same kind of opposition the early church and writers of the new testament faced…a lot of unbelief…sure I agree with the everybody….but I would not dare to say ur a scam…and just rewrote the book of acts in the Chinese Church version…..

  20. Ron Pierrard says:

    Brother Yun is sheduled to speak in Red Deer, Alberta, Canada on 2018 March 12 Monday at 7:00PM local time. I know there will be many genuine Christians attending. In my 43 years since experiencing personal salvation I have witnessed many things in a lot of countries and am saddened at the lack of discernment exhibited by some many with Christian backgrounds. We must be exceedingly cautious, especially as this world deteriorates spiritually with increasing speed. Please pray that those who attend such meetings would have their eyes and hearts opened to the Truth of God – Jesus Christ Himself – and no other man or group, and be filled with the true knowledge, wisdom, and power of his Word – no substitutes! May God deliver us from our gullibility!

    • Caroline says:

      Grieves my heart for the same reasons…and he will be in our area Thursday and many friends are planning to attend. I will be in prayer this evening 3/12/18 [apparently the meeting is now in session] – I will be interceding! I researched this today and am very uncomfortable after reading segments of the book and listening to many of his message excerpts. Much appreciation for the original review on this site and those that shared their misgivings, information or insights. We are to judge righteous judgment and ‘test every spirit to see whether it be of God’. I plan on doing exactly that.

  21. Lucy says:

    HI Pastor Jeremy,

    I really agree with your opinion. There are a lot exaggerated stories there. As a Chinese, over 20 years Christian, I never knew him before. There is another Christian Leader opposed to him. God is the judge, but the readers should be really careful.

  22. JImmy Kiker says:

    Pastor, if the book is all true and you have disparaged a good man, shame on you. If it is not all true and you have called attention to that possible fact and urged caution, good for you. Like we say in the South, danged if you do and danged if you don’t. I agree with pretty much everything in this thread . . . on both sides and in the middle.

  23. Cris Jones says:

    Wow, so spot-on.

    What an encouragement to know that someone else recognizes the “scent” of God’s Spirit.

    You took the words right outta my mouth…..

    Didn’t recognize the Acts parallel. Thanks.

    Blessings.

  24. Jimmy Kiker says:

    Read “ The Gospel Behind Bars”. It is similar as it pertains to the treatment of the prisoners with miraculous stories of their will to survive.

  25. Jonathan P. says:

    Hi Jeremy,

    I just read the book The Heavenly Man by Brother Yun and Paul Hattaway. I tell you, I just couldn’t put the book down! And may I say, I’ve been a Christian for 30 years now and I’ve read many Christian books, but I can think of few that have touched me like The Heavenly Man! It should be obvious to anyone reading Brother Yun’s book that here is a man who has “been with Jesus.” Acts 4:13.

    I came across your blog post today while I just doing some more research on Brother Yun and his book. I find them both absolutely fascinating and inspirational. (I heard there’s a movie of the book coming out.) After reading your blog post and the comments, I have a few thoughts that I believe God wants me to share.

    The first thought that the Lord put on my heart is the Bible verse where the apostle Paul says to “avoid doubtful disputations.” Romans 14:1, KJV. In other words, when we don’t know for sure one way or the other about something: “Don’t think the worst, think the best.” It reminds me of the passage in 1 Corinthians 13 about love. The apostle Paul says “love hopes all things…believes all things…thinks so evil,” etc.

    I also have a thought about how Brother Yun’s experiences which he related in his book have parallels to the book of Acts. I noticed this as you did in reading Brother Yun’s book. But I interpreted this in a positive way, not a negative way. In other words, the Bible tells us that “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever.” Hebrews 13:8. And so I don’t think it’s necessarily surprising to see God doing some of the same miracles today as He did in the book of Acts. If Brother Yun had written that he found a rainbow with a pot of gold at the end of it and he lived happily ever after – I can assure you that warning bells would have been going off in my mind! I’m sorry, I’m not trying to be sarcastic. I’m just saying that one of the things that impressed me about Brother Yun’s book is that I noticed it had a strong Biblical basis to it. He gave Scripture references and Bible verses to back up what he wrote and that impressed me.

    I was also impressed with the fact that Brother Yun is a man who obviously loves the Bible and memorizes God’s Word! I remember reading in the book that at one point in prison Brother Yun said he memorized some 55 chapters of the Bible. Wow! It reminds me of the Bible verse that says, “Thy Word have I hid in my heart, that I might not sin against Thee.” Psalm 119:11. It became apparent to me from reading the book that Brother Yun is obviously concerned about living his life and doing ministry according to God’s Word. I noticed this too when I watch some recent YouTube videos of him preaching. I noticed that his Bible is well used, and he carries it like his most precious treasure.

    Someone in the comment thread suggested people read the article titled: “Open Letter Regarding ‘The Heavenly Man’ – Asia Harvest”. I too have read that article and I thought it was very good. It seems obvious to me that there’s plenty of evidence to back up the credibility of Brother Yun. The Bible says, “By the mouth of two or three witnesses let every fact be confirmed.” 2 Corinthians 13:1. Surely at least that number of witnesses has been provided in Brother Yun’s book, not to mention in the open letter.

    Sincerely in Christ,
    Jonathan P.

  26. Jonathan P. says:

    BTW, just to follow up on my first point above regarding the admonition to “avoid doubtful disputations” Romans 14:1, KJV. . . I think another way to summarize it is to say: when we don’t know for sure, love gives the benefit of the doubt.

  27. M says:

    I think there are two issues at work in Yun’s book.

    The first is that English is not his first language and usually he speaks in Chinese and has a translator. Having studied Chinese and lived in China and having married into a Chinese family with children who speak Chinese, I can tell you that the expression “all” or 都 is frequently used in Chinese to express “the majority of” and Chinese is for sure not as precise as English when it comes to phrases like this.

    Second, it comes down to how the book was written and edited. Good writing is thematic so there may have been liberties taken to “force a theme.”

    However, Yun’s life and work speak for themselves. It might quite be possible that a westerner (which I assume you are) may not feel 100% comfortable with the reality of how God moves among Asian churches. Nevertheless, if Brother Yun is outright lying I’m sure God will deal with Him.

  28. Matt says:

    I was very excited about reading this book as I too enjoy learning about how God is active and working, doing extraordinary things through ordinary people in order to bring the message of Christ and His salvation to the lost all over the world. I unfortunately only made it to chapter 3. I am just sharing my experience of reading this book and in no way want to question Brother Yun. God knows all things and the only person Brother Yun has to answer to for any testimony he gives is to God Himself. This is just my own personal experience and observations.

    I became troubled in my spirit as I read the book. Not so much by the sensational miracles but by so many smaller unnecessary inconsistencies. For the sake of time I will just give a couple of examples. I found it unbelievably strange that after Brother Yun had finally been given a Bible after all of his prayer and fasting. And after he had been reading it for months and memorizing entire chapters and books that he had not shared any of it with his mother? Before he went out to witness to the South and West, he speaks with his mother but says she only knows a couple verses in the Bible and is completely illiterate biblically? In the same chapter he says that she is like the prophetess Anna and she spends her days fasting and praying. He had the time to read the entire Bible, using a dictionary because of his lack of education so it was painstaking, and then memorize the entire book of Matthew and half of Acts and in all of that time he didn’t share anything with his mother? Just before he went out to start spreading the Gospel, she knew no more verses from the Bible than before the Bible ever arrived at their house?

    Then he goes to the village of Gao and holds up his Bible above his head and shows it to all those gathered there (so we know he has his Bible with him) but then says he recites the entire book of Matthew – “quickly like a flowing river” so that he would not make any mistakes or forget anything? Could he not just open the Bible and read it? Was he trying to impress them by reciting it from memory? Why go through it so quickly as to not make any mistakes or forget any of it if it was there to reference? Then he goes on to say that the people asked him to stay longer so he then recited the first part of Acts which he had memorized and then told them he would come back when he had memorized more? Again – he had his Bible with him? Why could he not just have read the rest of Acts to them? Why could he not come back until he had memorized more when he could just come back and READ them more?

    These are just 2 brief examples. A careful read through the first 3 chapters will expose numerous inconsistencies just like this that make absolutely no sense. There may be more throughout the book but I didn’t read any further. If the small details don’t add up and seem sensationalized and stretched, it makes it hard for me to believe the viability of the larger events. I’m sure there is truth all throughout Brother Yun’s book I’m just not sure what is true and what isn’t and that for me is sad and makes it difficult for me to finish the book.

  29. CMJ says:

    I heard Brother Yun speak at a church once here in WA state. There was a translator. I was expecting him to share new things from his ministry but all he shared for 2-3 hours were the same exact “exciting” stories from his book, in the same order as the book. I thought that was a little odd because I was assuming most people who came to hear him speak had already read his book.

  30. jcmarshall2 says:

    I am torn on this issue. I want to believe God did all these things in China, but, like you, I had reservations when I felt like I was reading the book of Acts. It was uncanny how closely these stories related to the text of the Bible. Change a few names and places and you would believe it was the Bible. However, his humility, his understanding of what it means to be a follower of Christ, his reliance upon and good doctrine concerning the grace of God and his rebuke to ministers not to identify with the ministry but to identify with Christ, left me confused. He is solid doctrinally. I have been a pastor for over 20 years. Right teaching is important to me. Thank you for this fair dealing with the book. I also read the authors open letter and was impressed with how he dealt with the issues raised. But still not fully convinced.

  31. Andrew says:

    Good, careful review. Jesus told us to be wise as serpents and gentle as doves. Jesus and all the writers of the epistles also warned us that we should be on our guard. Miracles are no guarantee of being in the truth (Mt 7:21-23)

    Here is another data point.

    We loved the book “Heavenly Man” and read it many times. Moreover, we bought many copies in Chinese and took them to Henan Zhenzhou and gave to Christian friends there. They also loved reading it and spread it around. One of them is from the village next to Brother Yun’s. She took it to the village and they spread it around. Later, we received some feedback from her that people in the village were amazed that they had never heard of this man, or his wife or any of the miracles mentioned in the book. An old house church in this village is run by an elderly woman — she was surprised too that she has never heard of Brother Yun or his wife or any of the miracles mentioned, especially the miraculous harvest in the field given account by Brother Yun’s wife.

    PS To the person who commented on Watchman Nee, the news from China is that he was deeply in sin, and his conviction and imprisonment were just. If you wish to learn more, read “My Unforgettable Memories” by Dr Lily Hsu.

    • jmichaelrios says:

      Thanks for the comment, Andrew – and thanks as well for the additional information. It’s been almost ten years now since I wrote this review, and it remains one of the top posts of all time on this little blog. I’m guessing lots of other people have had questions about Brother Yun’s account over the years.

  32. I love your honest review, especially the last part 😊 Thank you for speaking honestly and somewhat confirmed some of my suspicious too. I do believe most of the stories are true but some I just withhold my judgment. The way you handle these ‘inconsistencies’ is kind and graceful. Kudos.

  33. Brett Sonnier says:

    I just bought this book and, like several others, made it only a few chapters in. I was so excited to read another book that I hoped would be like Brother Andrew’s account in God’s Smuggler. I couldn’t help but feel like something was off as well. I immediately began searching for similar experiences. This blog post from ten years ago is the first one I found. Reading your review, and the comment section, has eased my mind. Thank you for being honest and brave enough to post your response. And thank you for the other book mentions. I’ll definitely go check those out!

  34. Daniel says:

    Thanks for your review. I read Yun’s book on his preaching and absolutely loved it. Someone lent me the heavenly man and without ever hearing any accusations about Yun before, some red flags started appearing to me. Something wasn’t quite right. His mother apparently had very little teaching on the Bible and only knew about Jesus. But when Yun kept coming to her when he kept hearing a voice speak to him, she ended up calling him Samuel not long later after someone showed up who was in a dream of his. But it had come across like she wasn’t well versed in the Bible. The story was so close to the story of Samuel in the Bible. He hears a voice a few times and each time his mother sends him away. Nearly too close. I decided to keep reading, a few other red flags started popping up, the book of Act all over again. But the final straw was the overly holy and identical to Christ carrying the cross. One of the gospels has Jesus telling some women not to weep over him while he was carrying the cross. Yun gets a cross strapped to his back. Is flogged, and tells some weeping women not to pity him etc. It was as if he was trying hard to look like he was living out every story from the Bible. I believe in miracles and accept many miraculous biographies. May God prove me wrong about this. But the stories and something in my spirit to not sit well with this.

  35. judeshere01 says:

    I too had great uneasiness about this book. A young man at church read the book the same time as me, and he was full of praise for it while I couldn’t bring myself to even speak about it.
    Brother Yun being so doctrinally sound was what confused me about his story, I can’t really explain it, it was like the sound doctrine and his stories didn’t belong together.
    I have watched a lot of his videos on you tube, and there is no trace of that sound doctrine, it’s completely absent from his talks.
    I also wonder why if God works so powerfully in his life, no miracles happen at the churches he visits, also why does he need an interpreter.

Discussion

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.